Skip to content

Drum roll, please!!!!!!! The new Student/Community Liaison is…

September 17, 2012

I am extremely pleased to introduce to you all, the new Johns Hopkins University Student/Community Liaison, Mr. Jon Walter! Jon just retired after 22 and 1/2 years as a Baltimore City Police officer. He spent his entire career working in the Northern District (where JHU is located) and has worked in community relations for 17 of those years. Jon, along with Officer Doug Gibson and Officer Bill O’Donnell are my counterparts in the police department. In fact, these guys were my mentors and often my “go to” guys when I needed advice on how to handle something. When Dean Boswell mentioned Jon’s name as a possible candidate for the position, I felt a huge wave of relief. I know Jon, I know his back ground, his work ethic and his philosophy regarding community relations. Knowing that he is the one to not just take over, but to take the Student/Community Liaison position forward, means so much to me.

I’m also happy to announce that I’m coming back! Well, for a few weekends, anyway. Jon and I will be on patrol together this coming Thursday and Saturday, as well as the following Thursday and Friday. Jon will take over the reins by himself in October. Hmmm…. I wonder if Dean Boswell will let me do some twitter trivia before I go?? We’ll see! Oh…and I’ll be back, as an alum, for young alumni weekend Oct. 6th!!

I hope I get a chance to say good bye to you all these next couple of weekends and, more importantly, to introduce you to Jon. My cell pone number is the same, so if you want to text me to arrange an introduction to Jon, feel free.

See you soon!!!!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

